Si Tú Me Olvidas- If You Forget Me

Posted on

Quiero que sepas
una cosa.

I want you to know

one thing.

Tú sabes cómo es esto:
si miro
la luna de cristal, la rama roja
del lento otoño en mi ventana,
si toco
junto al fuego
la impalpable ceniza
o el arrugado cuerpo de la leña,
todo me lleva a ti,
como si todo lo que existe:
aromas, luz, metales,
fueran pequeños barcos que navegan
hacia las islas tuyas que me aguardan.

You know how this is:

if I look

the moon of crystal, the red branch

of the slow autumn in my window,

if I touch

near the fire

the intangible ash

or the crumpled body of the wood,

everything leads me to you,

as if everything that exists:

aromas, light, metals,

they were small boats that sail

to your islands that wait for me.

Digitally edited, original photo “Ubiquitous Azorean Hydrangeas” by Choconancy1- Flickr

Ahora bien,
si poco a poco dejas de quererme
dejaré de quererte poco a poco.

However,

if little by little you stop loving me

I will stop loving you little by little.

Si de pronto
me olvidas
no me busques,
que ya te habré olvidado.

If suddenly

you forget me

do not look for me,

I will have already forgotten you.

Si consideras largo y loco
el viento de banderas
que pasa por mi vida
y te decides
a dejarme a la orilla
del corazón en que tengo raíces,
piensa
que en esa día,
a esa hora
levantaré los brazos
y saldrán mis raíces
a buscar otra tierra.

If you consider long and crazy

the wind of flags

that pass by my life

and you decide

to leave me to the edge

of the heart in which I have roots,

thinking

that on that day,

on that hour

I will raise the arms

and my roots will spread

to search for another earth.

Pero
si cada día,
cada hora,
sientes que a mí estás destinada
con dulzura implacable,
si cada día sube
una flor a tus labios a buscarme,
ay amor mío, ay mía,
en mí todo ese fuego se repite,
en mí nada se apaga ni se olvida,
mi amor se nutre de tu amor, amada,
y mientras vivas estará en tus brazos
sin salir de los míos.

But

if every day,

every hour,

you feel that to me you are destined

with impeccable sweetness,

if each day rises

a flower to your lips to look for me,

oh my love, oh mine,

in me all this fire is repeated,

in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,

my love is nourished by your love, beloved,

and while you live it will be in your arms

without leaving mine.

 

-Pablo Neruda en Obras Completas I. De “Crepusculario” a “Las uvas del tiempo” 1923-1954. English translation by Thayne Tuason 2012.

Leave a comment